loading..
   English
06:22

Three-valued logic and WHERE clause

Lets examine the following example.

Let it be required to define the ships with the unknown launch year (database Ships).

If we write

Solution 8.5.1

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT *
  2. FROM Ships
  3. WHERE launched = NULL;
then, however strange it may seem, we wont get any entries even if such vessels exist there. As there are no ships with a known launch year in the available database, lets create them to be able to check the truth of this statement:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT *
  2. FROM (SELECT name, launched,
  3. CASE
  4. WHEN launched < 1940
  5. THEN NULL
  6. ELSE launched
  7. END year
  8. FROM Ships
  9. ) x
  10. WHERE year = NULL;

Here we added the year field that contains NULL in case the vessel was launched earlier than 1940 to the subquery. 

So why didnt we get anything? At this point one should remember that in SQL, as well as in the relational theory, three-valued logic is used. That means the true value of a comparison operation can be not only TRUE or FALSE, but also UNKNOWN. Its caused by NULL values existence, and the comparison with it brings this case about. Its intuitively understandable, if you keep in mind Null value is used to replace undefined data. If we ask: Is the year of Bismarcks launch 1939? the answer will be: I dont know, as there is no information on the launch year of this vessel in the database. And this dont know turns into UNKNOWN.

And what happens if we use comparison with NULL value explicitly or implicitly (with the NULL-value in a column we compare with) in WHERE clause? The entry falls into the resulting set if the predicate gives TRUE. And thats all in case of FALSE or UNKNOWN the entry is not included. Thats why we got nothing in the example above, as we have UNKNOWN for all rows.

So, how can we get a list of ships with undefined launch year? For this purpose theres a special IS NULL predicate in  SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL Standard (and its opposite IS NOT NULL). The true value of this predicate cant be UNKNOWN, that means, the year is whether known (FALSE) or not (TRUE). Then we can write to solve our problem:

Solution 8.5.2

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT *
  2. FROM Ships
  3. WHERE launched IS NULL;

This is the standard, but what about realizations? All said above is correct about SQL Server. But its not the only way. Probably to make SQL programming more customary for those who use traditional programming languages its possible to turn off the standard NULL-value interpretation (its set on by default) by changing the ANSI_NULLS parameter properly:

  1. SET ANSI_NULLS OFF|ON

Type the following code in Management Studio (or in Query Analyzer for  C (), Microsoft.SQL Server 2000)  and everything will become clear:

Console
Execute
  1. SET ANSI_NULLS OFF
  2. SELECT *
  3. FROM (SELECT name, launched,
  4. CASE
  5. WHEN launched < 1940
  6. THEN NULL
  7. ELSE launched
  8. END year
  9. FROM Ships
  10. ) x
  11. WHERE year = NULL;

Bookmark and Share

Content:

Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
09:04
листать

Трехзначная логика и предложение Where

Рассмотрим следующий пример.

Пусть требуется определить корабли с неизвестным годом спуска на воду (база данных "Корабли").

Если мы напишем

Решение 8.5.1

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT *
  2. FROM Ships
  3. WHERE launched = NULL;
то, как бы ни казалось это странным, мы не получим ни одной записи, даже если такие корабли имеются в таблице Ships (напомним, что столбец launched допускает NULL-значения) Поскольку в доступной базе данных нет кораблей с неизвестным годом спуска на воду, давайте их создадим, чтобы вы могли проверить справедливость данного утверждения:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT *
  2. FROM (SELECT name, launched,
  3. CASE
  4. WHEN launched < 1940
  5. THEN NULL
  6. ELSE launched
  7. END year
  8. FROM Ships
  9. ) x
  10. WHERE year = NULL;

Здесь мы добавили в подзапросе столбец year, который содержит NULL, если корабль был спущен на воду до 1940 года.

Итак, почему мы ничего не получили? Здесь следует вспомнить о том, что в  Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL (и вообще в реляционной теории) используется трехзначная логика, то есть истинностным значением операции сравнения может быть не только TRUE (истина) и FALSE (ложь), но и UNKNOWN (неизвестно). Это обусловлено существованием NULL-значения, сравнение с которым и дает это истинностное значение. Это интуитивно понятно, если помнить, что NULL-значение служит для замены неизвестной информации. Если мы спросим: «Является ли годом спуска на воду корабля Бисмарк 1939 год»? Ответом будет: «Не знаю». Так как у нас нет информации в базе данных о годе спуска на воду этого корабля, это «не знаю» и есть UNKNOWN.

Что происходит, если в предложении WHERE мы используем сравнение с NULL-значением явно или неявно (с NULL-значением в сравниваемом столбце)? Запись попадает в результирующий набор, если предикат дает истинностное значение TRUE. И все, то есть при значениях FALSE или UNKNOWN запись не попадает в результат. Именно поэтому мы ничего и не получили в приведенном выше примере, поскольку для всех строк получаем UNKNOWN.

Так как же получить список кораблей с неизвестным годом спуска на воду? Для этого в стандарте SQL имеется специальный предикат IS NULL (и обратный ему IS NOT NULL). Истинностным значением этого предиката не может быть UNKNOWN, то есть год либо известен (FALSE), либо неизвестен (TRUE). Тогда для решения нашей задачи можно написать:

Решение 8.5.2

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT *
  2. FROM Ships
  3. WHERE launched IS NULL;

Это стандарт. А что же реализации? Все сказанное выше справедливо для SQL Server. Однако это не единственная возможность. Видимо, чтобы сделать программирование на SQL более привычным для тех, кто пользуется традиционными языками программирования, можно отключить стандартную трактовку NULL-значений (по умолчанию включено) с помощью соответствующей установки параметра ANSI_NULLS:

  1. SET ANSI_NULLS OFF|ON

Напишите в Management Studio (или в Query Analyzer для  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft.SQL Server 2000 и ранее) следующий код, и вы все поймете:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SET ANSI_NULLS OFF;
  2. SELECT *
  3. FROM (SELECT name, launched,
  4. CASE
  5. WHEN launched < 1940
  6. THEN NULL
  7. ELSE launched
  8. END year
  9. FROM Ships
  10. ) x
  11. WHERE year = NULL;

Bookmark and Share
Развернуть всё
Свернуть всё

Содержание:

Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
вчера
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100