loading..
   English
00:02

ROW_NUMBER function page 2

MySQL has not ranking/window functions in its staff, but you can use variables in a SQL query directly. Particularly, the problem of numbering query result rows can be solved with using variables. Let's demonstrate it by example being considered on the previous page.

  1. SELECT @i:=@i+1 num,
  2. trip_no, id_comp
  3. FROM Trip, (SELECT @i:=0) X
  4. WHERE ID_comp < 3
  5. ORDER BY id_comp, trip_no;

num id_comp trip_no
1 1 1181
2 1 1182
3 1 1187
4 1 1188
5 1 1195
6 1 1196
7 2 1145
8 2 1146

In the third line of the script, initializing of variable is accomplished. As a result, each row of Trip table will be joined the single-column row containing 0 (just Cartesian product).

In the first line of the script, variable is incrementing by 1, and this action takes place when calculating each next row in the sorting that is specified in ORDER BY clause. The numbering in this case corresponds to the sorting order.

If you omit the initialization of variable, you might obtain the correct result but without garantee. If you run the query (without initializing) once more in the current session of connection with database, you should obtain numbering which is starting from the maximal value of variable @i reached at the previous execution of the query.

We can get numbering of rows for each company separately, i.e. to imitate the behaviour of PARTITION BY in the query:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT row_number() over(PARTITION BY id_comp ORDER BY id_comp,trip_no) num,
  2. trip_no, id_comp
  3. FROM Trip
  4. WHERE ID_comp < 3
  5. ORDER BY ID_comp, trip_no;

 Let's introduce another variable for storing the company ID (@comp). When initializing variable, we assign unexisting ID (0, for example). Then for each row, the value of variable is comparing with company ID of the current row. If these values equal each other, @i is incrementing; if not - @i is resetting to 1. Finally, we assign the company ID from current row to variable @comp.  The matter is that the comparison takes place before assigning, in so doing we compare the current value of company ID with the ID from previous row (in the given sorting order). Here the query is.

  1. SELECT
  2. CASE WHEN @comp=id_comp THEN @i:=@i+1 ELSE @i:=1 END num,
  3. @comp:=id_comp id_comp, trip_no
  4. FROM Trip, (SELECT @i:=0, @comp:=0) X
  5. WHERE ID_comp < 3
  6. ORDER BY ID_comp, trip_no;

num id_comp trip_no
1 1 1181
2 1 1182
3 1 1187
4 1 1188
5 1 1195
6 1 1196
1 2 1145
2 2 1146

As we don't follow  SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL Standard here, let's use MySQL IF function to make the query shorter.

  1. SELECT
  2. IF(@comp=id_comp, @i:=@i+1, @i:=1) num,
  3. @comp:=id_comp id_comp, trip_no
  4. FROM Trip, (SELECT @i:=0, @comp:=0) X
  5. WHERE ID_comp < 3
  6. ORDER BY id_comp, trip_no;

To check the above queries, use console when selecting MySQL as target DBMS.

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONSTRAINT CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME date_time functions DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates edge equi-join EXCEPT exercise (-2) More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
https://exchangesumo.com/obmen/SEPAUSD-KUKRUB/
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
16:36
листать

Функция ROW_NUMBER стр. 2

В MySQL пока нет ранжирующих/оконных функций, однако есть возможность использовать переменные непосредственно в запросе SQL. В частности, с помощью переменных можно решить задачу нумерации строк запроса. Продемонстрируем это на примере, который рассматривался на предыдущей странице.

  1. SELECT @i:=@i+1 num,
  2.      trip_no, id_comp
  3.     FROM Trip, (SELECT @i:=0) X
  4.     WHERE ID_comp < 3
  5.     ORDER BY id_comp, trip_no;

num     id_comp     trip_no
1     1     1181
2     1     1182
3     1     1187
4     1     1188
5     1     1195
6     1     1196
7     2     1145
8     2     1146

В третьей строке запроса выполняется инициализация переменной и присваивается ей начальное значение. В итоге каждая строка таблицы Trip будет соединяться со строкой из одного столбца, содержащего 0 (просто декартово произведение).

В первой строке запроса значение переменной инкрементируется на 1, что происходит при вычислении каждой следующей строки в порядке, заданном предложением ORDER BY. В итоге мы получаем нумерацию строк в порядке сортировки.

Если вы опустите инициализацию переменной, то можете получить правильный результат. Но это не гарантировано, в чем можно убедиться, повторно выполнив этот же запрос в текущей сессии соединения с базой данных. Вы должны получить продолжение нумерации с максимального значения переменной @i, достигнутого на предыдущем запуске скрипта.

Мы также можем перенумеровать строки для каждой компании отдельно, т.е. сымитировав поведение PARTITION BY в запросе

Консоль
Выполнить
  1.     SELECT row_number() over(PARTITION BY id_comp ORDER BY id_comp,trip_no) num,
  2.      trip_no, id_comp
  3.     FROM Trip
  4.     WHERE ID_comp < 3
  5.     ORDER BY ID_comp, trip_no;

 Идея решения состоит в следующем. Введем еще одну переменную для хранения номера компании. При инициализации присвоим ей несуществующий номер (например, 0). Затем для каждой строки будем проверять, совпадает ли номер с номером компании текущей строки. Если значения совпадают, будем инкрементировать, если нет, сбрасывать в 1. Наконец, будем присваивать переменной номер компании из текущей строки. Дело в том, что проверка выполняется до присвоения, тем самым мы сравниваем текущее значение номера компании с номером компании из предыдущей строки (в заданном порядке сортировки). Теперь сам запрос.

  1. SELECT
  2. CASE WHEN @comp=id_comp THEN @i:=@i+1 ELSE @i:=1 END num,
  3. @comp:=id_comp id_comp, trip_no
  4.     FROM Trip, (SELECT @i:=0, @comp:=0) X
  5.     WHERE ID_comp < 3
  6.     ORDER BY ID_comp, trip_no;

num     id_comp     trip_no
1     1     1181
2     1     1182
3     1     1187
4     1     1188
5     1     1195
6     1     1196
1     2     1145
2     2     1146

Или, коль скоро вы отошли от стандарта, можно использовать функцию IF, чтобы сократить запись:

  1. SELECT
  2. IF(@comp=id_comp, @i:=@i+1, @i:=1) num,
  3. @comp:=id_comp id_comp, trip_no
  4.     FROM Trip, (SELECT @i:=0, @comp:=0) X
  5.     WHERE ID_comp < 3
  6.     ORDER BY id_comp, trip_no;

Проверить эти запросы вы можете из консоли, выбрав из списка MySQL.

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
несколько дней назад
https://exchangesumo.com/obmen/WEXRUB-USTMRUB/
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100