loading..
Русский    English
18:15

Random sampling of rows from a table in SQL Server page 1

In due time we used random sampling of entries to create a list of questions for a test. We did it on the client with the help of basic language functions which generate pseudorandom numbers within a given range (for example, the RND function in Visual Basic).

It turned out, however, quite simple to arrange it on the server side. Both by similar tools (with the help of the RAND function in T-SQL) and on the basis of uniqueidentifier datatype which is called global unique udentifier and lools like:

  1. xxxxxxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx,
where each x is a sexadecimal digit between 0-9 or a-f. For example,
EEA8BF3A-7633-477A-B8C1-8C60DC9AD20C.

For the solution of our problem it is essential that this unique identifier can be automatically generated by employing the NEWID function. Just write down in QA (Query Analyzer) or in MS (Management Studio)

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT NEWID();

or

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT TOP 1 NEWID() FROM PC
on the SQL-EX.RU website, and you will see everything. Every time the query being executed, you'll be getting different values. Therein lies the uniqueness of the identifier.

So, the idea is to add a computed column NEWID, by which the sorting should be performed, to the query yielding the required number of entries. Since generated values are arbitrary, we'll get a random fetch.

Assume that we need to select two random models from the Product table:

Solution 8.8.1

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT model
  2. FROM (SELECT TOP 2 model, NEWID() [id]
  3. FROM Product
  4. ORDER BY [id]
  5. ) x;
Or simpler

Siolution 8.8.2

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT TOP 2 model
  2. FROM Product
  3. ORDER BY NEWID();

Let us run this query several times:

--1--
1232
1433
--2--
1276
1260
--3--
1750
1298

You can carry on if you like.

Now let us come back to the "traditional" way. The RAND function generates pseudorandom floating point numbers between 0 and 1.

The term 'pseudorandom' denotes that such numbers are computed by means of a certain atithmetic algorythm. That is, with the initial conditions (input) being equal, the derived numbers will be the same. The initial conditions may be set explicitly, by supplying the function argument which can be any number of tinyint, int or smallint type, or implicitly. In the last case the argument is omitted and the initial value is selected by  SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL Server.

Let us execute the following query:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT TOP 1 RAND(), RAND(350)
  2. FROM Product;

We will run it in MS. I got 0.0485421339242268 and 0.72009490018203537. It may be safely stated that the first number you get will be different, but the second may be the same, since in this case the initial value was specified (350).


Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
22:22
листать

Случайная выборка строк из таблицы в SQL Server стр. 1

В свое время мы использовали случайную выборку записей для формирования списка вопросов теста. Мы делали это на клиенте, используя функции базового языка, генерирующие псевдослучайное число в заданном диапазоне (например, функция RND в Visual Basic).

Однако оказалось, что достаточно просто это можно организовать и на сервере. Причем сделать это можно как аналогичными средствами (с помощью функции RAND в T-SQL) так и на основе типа данных uniqueidentifier, который называется глобальным уникальным идентификатором и имеет вид:

  1. xxxxxxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx,
где каждое x является шестнадцатеричной цифрой в диапазоне 0–9 или a–f. Например, EEA8BF3A-7633-477A-B8C1-8C60DC9AD20C.

Для решения нашей задачи важно то, что этот уникальный идентификатор может генерироваться автоматически при использовании функции NEWID. Просто напишите в QA (Query Analyzer) или в MS (Management Studio)

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT NEWID();
или на сайте

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT TOP 1 NEWID() FROM PC;
и вы все увидите. Причем, выполняя этот запрос снова и снова, вы будете получать все время разные значения. В этом и заключается уникальность этого идентификатора.

Так вот, идея состоит в том, чтобы в запрос, возвращающий нужное число записей, добавить вычисляемый столбец NEWID, по которому должна выполняться сортировка. Поскольку генерируемые значения произвольны, то мы и получим случайную выборку.

Итак, пусть нам нужно выбрать две произвольные модели из таблицы Product:

Решение 8.8.1

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT model
  2. FROM (SELECT TOP 2 model, NEWID() [id]
  3. FROM Product
  4. ORDER BY [id]
  5. ) x;

Или более просто

Решение 8.8.2

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT TOP 2 model
  2. FROM Product
  3. ORDER BY NEWID();

Выполним этот запрос несколько раз:

--1--
1232
1433
--2--
1276
1260
--3--
1750
1298

Если хотите, можете продолжить.

Теперь вернемся к «традиционному» способу. Функция RAND генерирует псевдослучайное число с плавающей точкой в диапазоне от 0 до 1.

Термин «псевдослучайное» означает, что такое число вычисляется с помощью некоторого арифметического алгоритма. То есть при одинаковых начальных (входных) условиях получаемое число будет одним и тем же. Эти начальные условия могут быть заданы явно с помощью аргумента функции, которым может быть любое число типа tinyint, int или smallint, или неявно. В последнем случае аргумент опускается, в результате чего начальное значение будет выбрано  Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL Server.

Попробуем выполнить следующий запрос:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT TOP 1 RAND(), RAND(350)
  2. FROM Product;

Выполним этот запрос в QA. У меня получилось: 0.0485421339242268 и 0.72009490018203537. Можно с уверенностью утверждать, что первое число у вас другое, однако второе может быть тем же самым, так как во втором случае мы задали начальное значение (350).


Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
сегодня
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100