loading..
Русский    English
00:28

Predicates I page 1

Predicate is an expression taking truth value. It may be both a single expression or any combination of a numberless expressions built by means of Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT. Besides, these combinations may inclide SQL-operator IS, and parentheses that define the order in which operations are to be executed.

 SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL predicate evaluates to TRUE, FALSE and UNKNOWN. The following predicates are exceptions to this rule: IS NULL, EXISTS, UNIQUE, and MATCH, which could not evaluate to UNKNOWN.

To remember combination rules for these three truth values, let us denote TRUE as 1, FALSE as 0, and UNKNOWN as 1/2 (somewhere between true and false) [2].

  •   AND with two truth values gives minimum of these values. For example, TRUE AND UNKNOWN is UNKNOWN.
  •   OR with two truth values gives maximum of these values. For example, FALSE OR UNKNOWN is UNKNOWN.
  •   Negation of truth value is 1 minus this truth value. For example, NOT UNKNOWN is UNKNOWN

Next page

Suggested exercises: 5, 33

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2 3
Развернуть всё
Свернуть всё

Content:

Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
21:50
листать

Предикаты I стр. 1

Предикаты представляют собой выражения, принимающие истинностное значение. Они могут представлять собой как одно выражение, так и любую комбинацию из неограниченного количества выражений, построенную с помощью булевых операторов AND, OR или NOT. Кроме того, в этих комбинациях может использоваться SQL-оператор IS, а также круглые скобки для конкретизации порядка выполнения операций.

Предикат в языке  Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL может принимать одно из трех значений TRUE (истина), FALSE (ложь) или UNKNOWN (неизвестно). Исключение составляют следующие предикаты: IS NULL (отсутствие значения), EXISTS (существование), UNIQUE (уникальность) и MATCH (совпадение), которые не могут принимать значение UNKNOWN.

Правила комбинирования всех трех истинностных значений легче запомнить, обозначив TRUE как 1, FALSE как 0 и UNKNOWN как 1/2 (где-то между истинным и ложным значениями) [2].

AND с двумя истинностными значениями дает минимум этих значений. Например, TRUE AND UNKNOWN будет равно UNKNOWN.

OR с двумя истинностными значениями дает максимум этих значений. Например, FALSE OR UNKNOWN будет равно UNKNOWN.

Отрицание истинностного значения равно 1 минус данное истинностное значение. Например, NOT UNKNOWN будет равно UNKNOWN.

Следующая страница

Рекомендуемые упражнения: 5, 33

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2 3
Развернуть всё
Свернуть всё

Содержание:

Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX MIN MONTH MySQL Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
несколько дней назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100