loading..
Русский    English
13:23

Intersect and Except page 1

Within the standard of   SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL language there are clauses of SELECT statement for fulfillment of operations of intersection and subtraction of the queries. Such queries are INTERSECT  [ALL] (intersection) and EXCEPT [ALL] (subtraction), which operate analogously to UNION statement. Into the resulting set only those rows are included that are in the both queries (INTERSECT) and only those rows of the first query, that are absent in the second one (EXCEPT). Thereby both of the queries, that are involved in the operation, should be characterized by the same number of columns, and the corresponding columns should have the same (or implied) data types. The titles of the columns of the resulting set are formed from the titles of the first query.

If the key word ALL is not used, that the duplicate strings should be automatically canceled during fulfillment of the operation. If ALL is indicated, than the number of duplicate rows is subject to the following rules (n1 – the number of duplicate rows of the first query, n2 – the number of duplicate rows of the second query):

  • INTERSECT ALL: min(n1, n2)
  • EXCEPT ALL: n1 - n2, if n1>n2.

Example 5.7.3

Select the ships, which are included both into Ships table and into Outcomes table.

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT name FROM Ships
  2. INTERSECT
  3. SELECT ship FROM Outcomes;

In relational algebra intersection operation is commutative, as it is applied to relationships with identical titles. In SQL we can also change the order of the queries. The above-cited solution will give the same result  as the following:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT ship FROM Outcomes
  2. INTERSECT
  3. SELECT name FROM Ships;
excluding the title. In the first case the title of the single column is name while in the second case the title is ship. Therefore the query
Console
Execute
  1. SELECT name FROM (
  2. SELECT ship FROM Outcomes
  3. INTERSECT
  4. SELECT name FROM Ships
  5. ) x;
will lead to error:

Invalid column name 'name'.


Suggested exercises: 23, 38

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2 3 4
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONSTRAINT CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 More tags
The book was updated
today
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
20:41
листать

Пересечение и разность стр. 1

В стандарте языка SQL имеются предложения оператора SELECT для выполнения операций пересечения и разности результатов запросов-операндов. Этими предложениями являются INTERSECT [ALL] (пересечение) и EXCEPT [ALL] (разность), которые работают аналогично предложению UNION. В результирующий набор попадают только те строки, которые присутствуют в обоих запросах (INTERSECT) или только те строки первого запроса, которые отсутствуют во втором (EXCEPT). При этом оба запроса, участвующих в операции, должны иметь одинаковое число столбцов, и соответствующие столбцы должны иметь одинаковые (или неявно приводимые) типы данных. Имена столбцов результирующего набора формируются из заголовков первого запроса.

Если не используется ключевое слово ALL (по умолчанию подразумевается DISTINCT), то при выполнении операции автоматически устраняются дубликаты строк. Если указано ALL, то количество дублированных строк подчиняется следующим правилам (n1 - число дубликатов строк первого запроса, n2 - число дубликатов строк второго запроса):

  •  INTERSECT ALL: min(n1, n2)
  •  EXCEPT ALL: n1 - n2, если n1>n2.

Пример 5.7.3.

Найти корабли, которые присутствуют как в таблице Ships, так и в таблице Outcomes.

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT name FROM Ships
  2. INTERSECT
  3. SELECT ship FROM Outcomes;

В реляционной алгебре операция пересечения является коммутативной, поскольку она применима к отношениям с одинаковыми заголовками. Мы и в  Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL можем поменять запросы местами. Вышеприведенное решение даст тот же результат, что и следующее:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT ship FROM Outcomes
  2. INTERSECT
  3. SELECT name FROM Ships;
за исключением заголовка. В первом случае единственный столбец будет иметь заголовок name, а во втором - ship. Поэтому запрос

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT name FROM (
  2. SELECT ship FROM Outcomes
  3. INTERSECT
  4. SELECT name FROM Ships
  5. ) x;
приведет к ошибке:

Invalid column name 'name'.

(неверное имя столбца 'name').

Рекомендуемые упражнения: 23, 38

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2 3 4
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
несколько дней назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100