loading..
   English
21:18

Referential integrity: FOREIGN KEY page 3

For constraint removal, the ALTER TABLE statement is used, as well:

  1. ALTER TABLE < TABLE name >
  2. DROP CONSTRAINT < constraint name >;

Thats where the constraint name becomes necessary! Lets remove the foreign key from the PC table.

  1. ALTER TABLE PC
  2. DROP CONSTRAINT fk_pc_product;

Notes:

When the foreign key is removed, the columns it is applied to are not deleted, just the constraint itself is dropped. This holds true for other constraints, as well.

Now, we create a new constraint making use of cascade delete:

  1. ALTER TABLE PC
  2. ADD CONSTRAINT fk_pc_product
  3. FOREIGN KEY(model) REFERENCES Product ON DELETE CASCADE;

4.    Changes of column values in the parent table the foreign key in the child table refers to, that is, of columns listed in the REFERENCE clause of the FOREIGN KEY constraint. Here, the same behavior patterns are possible as when a row is deleted, but option is introduced by the clause 

  1. ON UPDATE < OPTION >

By means of the foreign key, as well as of other constraints, we model connections existing in the subject area. Therefore, the choice of the constraint behavior options is stipulated exactly by the subject area. In our case, it seems natural to create a constraint with CASCADE for changing/deleting the model number in the Product table, so that such a change propagates to the descriptive tables, say, deleting articles of the void model. In other words, for the PC table, we should define the foreign key constraint as follows: 

  1. ALTER TABLE PC
  2. ADD CONSTRAINT fk_pc_product
  3. FOREIGN KEY(model) REFERENCES Product
  4. ON DELETE CASCADE
  5. ON UPDATE CASCADE;

However, for a different subject area cascade deletion may result in data loss. Say, we have an Employees and a Departments table linked together by the department number, and on deletion (breaking-up) of a department employees working there arent dismissed but transferred to other departments. In this case, cascade deletion would lead to an undesired removal of information on employees who have been working in the division broken up. Here, NO ACTION (first assign employees to other divisions, then delete the emptied department) or SET NULL (first delete the department, then find new jobs for employees not assigned to any department) seems more appropriate. Id like to repeat one more time the choice of the constraint behavior depends not on the programmers preferences but on processes taking place in the real world being modeled.

Notes

1.    In the example above, we established a one-to-many relationship between the Product and PC tables. A one-to-one relationship is created when a unique column or column combination represents the foreign key for the child table. In a number of cases, such a relationship can be attributed to flawed database design, since an entity is practically divided in two. However, in some situations there are forcible reasons for such a separation for instance, if a vertical table partitioning needs to be done to improve performance or because of security considerations.

2.    To delete a constraint, one needs to know its name. However, as weve already seen, a constraint can be created without being explicitly assigned a name. What is to be done in such a situation? Well, if we dont explicitly specify a name its generated by the system. Thus, the constraint always has a name whether we know it, is another question. This is an appropriate point to say that relational databases store metadata exactly the same way as ordinary data namely, in tables. By standard, metadata is represented by an information schema, and can be retrieved from it by an ordinary SELECT query. Without going into detail, lets write a query getting us the foreign key constraint name for the PC table:

  1. SELECT CONSTRAINT_NAME
  2. FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.TABLE_CONSTRAINTS
  3. WHERE TABLE_NAME ='PC' AND CONSTRAINT_TYPE ='FOREIGN KEY';

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2 3
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONSTRAINT CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME date_time functions DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates edge equi-join EXCEPT exercise (-2) More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
16:35
листать

Ссылочная целостность: внешний ключ (FOREIGN KEY) стр. 3

Для удаления ограничения также используется оператор ALTER TABLE:

  1. ALTER TABLE <имя таблицы>
  2. DROP CONSTRAINT <имя ограничения>;

Вот где нам понадобилось имя ограничения! Давайте удалим внешний ключ из таблицы PC.

  1. ALTER TABLE PC
  2. DROP CONSTRAINT fk_pc_product;

Примечание:

При удалении внешнего ключа сами столбцы не удаляются, удаляется лишь ограничение. Это также справедливо и для других ограничений.

Создадим теперь новое ограничение, использующее каскадное удаление:

  1. ALTER TABLE PC
  2. ADD CONSTRAINT fk_pc_product
  3. FOREIGN KEY(model) REFERENCES Product ON DELETE CASCADE;

4.    Изменение значений столбцов в главной таблице, с которыми связан внешний ключ в подчиненной таблице, т.е. тех столбцов, которые указаны в предложении REFERENCES ограничения FOREIGN KEY. Здесь действуют те же варианты, что и в случае с удалением строки из главной таблицы, только опция вводится предложением

  1. ON UPDATE <опция>

При помощи внешнего ключа, как и других ограничений, мы моделируем связи, которые существуют в предметной области. Поэтому выбор опций определяется именно предметной областью. В нашем случае при изменении номера модели в таблице Product естественно создать ограничение с опцией CASCADE, чтобы это изменение проникало в продукционные таблицы, удаляя изделия аннулированной модели, т.е. для таблицы PC нам следует написать:

  1. ALTER TABLE PC
  2. ADD CONSTRAINT fk_pc_product
  3. FOREIGN KEY(model) REFERENCES Product
  4.             ON DELETE CASCADE
  5.             ON UPDATE CASCADE;

Однако для другой предметной области каскадное удаление может привести к ошибочной потере данных. Пусть, например, для таблиц Сотрудники и Отделы существует связь по номеру отдела. Если при удалении (расформировании) отдела сотрудники не увольняются, а переводятся в другие отделы, то каскадное удаление ошибочно привело бы к удалению информации о сотрудниках, работавших в этом отделе. Здесь подошел бы вариант NO ACTION – чтобы сначала распределить сотрудников по другим отделам, а потом удалить «пустой» отдел; или вариант SET NULL, т.е. сначала удаляем отдел, а потом занимаемся трудоустройством сотрудников, не приписанных ни к какому отделу. Еще раз повторю, что выбор варианта зависит не от предпочтений программиста, а от процессов, имеющих место в реальном мире.

Замечания

1.    Между таблицами Product и PC выше мы реализовали связь «один ко многим». Связь «один к одному» создается в случае, когда в подчиненной таблице внешним ключом является уникальный столбец или уникальная комбинация столбцов. В ряде случаев связь «один к одному» является ошибкой проектирования, поскольку фактически одна сущность разбивается на две. Однако для такого разделения иногда имеются веские основания, например, когда с целью повышения производительности или обеспечения безопасности приходится выполнить вертикальное секционирование (partitioning) таблицы.

2.    При удалении ограничения необходимо знать его имя. Однако, как мы уже знаем, можно создать ограничение, не давая ему имени. Как быть в этом случае? Если мы явно не указываем имя ограничения, его генерирует система. Поэтому имя всегда есть. Другой вопрос, что мы его не знаем. Тут уместно сказать, что в реляционных системах метаданные хранятся так же, как и данные, т.е. в таблицах. Стандартным представлением метаданных является информационная схема, к которой можно адресовать обычные запросы на выборку. Не углубляясь в детали, напишем запрос, который вернет нам имя ограничения внешнего ключа для таблицы PC:

  1. SELECT CONSTRAINT_NAME 
  2. FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.TABLE_CONSTRAINTS
  3. WHERE TABLE_NAME ='PC' AND CONSTRAINT_TYPE ='FOREIGN KEY';

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2 3
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
несколько дней назад
advcash rub на перевод rub перевод
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100