loading..
   English
08:45

Referential integrity: FOREIGN KEY page 1

A foreign key is a constraint that enforces the consistency of two tables, thus ensuring their so-called referential integrity. This kind of integrity means its always possible to get full information about an object even if this information is distributed among several tables. The reasons for such a distribution lie in the relational model design principles, and will be examined later.

The relationship between tables isnt equivalent. Theres always a parent and a child table. There are two types of relationship: one-to-one and one-to-many. A one-to-one relationship means that a row in the parent table has no more than one (that is, one or none) corresponding row in the child table. For a one-to-many relationship, a row in the parent table may refer to any number (including zero) of rows in the child table.

The relationship is established by having equal values of certain columns in the parent and child tables. The column (or a set of columns in the case of a compound key) in the child table lined to a column (or a set of columns) in the parent table is called a foreign key.

Since in any relationship, the parent table is on the one side, its column involved in the foreign key relationship should have a PRIMARY KEY or UNIQUE constraint applied. And the foreign key is created by means of the FOREIGN KEY specification:

  1. FOREIGN KEY(< list of COLUMNS 1 >
  2. REFERENCES < name of the parent TABLE >(< list of COLUMNS 2 >)

The number of columns in the lists 1 and 2 must be equal, and their data types must be compatible for each pair of columns.

Thats how a foreign key for the PC table can be created:

  1. ALTER TABLE PC
  2. ADD CONSTRAINT fk_pc_product
  3. FOREIGN KEY(model) REFERENCES Product(model);

Note: for the parent table, the column in parentheses neednt to be specified if it is a primary key, since there can be only one primary key in a table. Thats exactly our case; therefore, the last line can be rewritten as follows: 

  1. FOREIGN KEY(model) REFERENCES Product;

Foreign keys for the Printer and Laptop tables are created in a similar manner.


Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2 3
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
21:58
листать

Ссылочная целостность: внешний ключ (FOREIGN KEY) стр. 1

Внешний ключ – это ограничение, которое поддерживает согласованное состояние данных между двумя таблицами, обеспечивая так называемую ссылочную целостность. Этот тип целостности означает, что всегда есть возможность получить полную информацию об объекте, распределенную по нескольким таблицам. Причины такого распределения, связанные с принципами проектирования реляционной модели, мы рассмотрим в дальнейшем.

Связь между таблицами не является равноправной. В ней всегда есть главная таблица и таблица подчиненная. Связи бывают двух типов: «один к одному» и «один ко многим». Связь «один к одному» означает, что строке главной таблицы соответствует не более одной строки (т.е. одна или ни одной) в подчиненной таблице. Связь «один ко многим» означает, что одной строке главной таблицы отвечает любое число строк (в том числе и 0) в подчиненной таблице.

Связь устанавливается посредством равенства значений определенных столбцов в главной и подчиненной таблицах. При этом столбец (или набор столбцов в случае составного ключа) в подчиненной таблице, который соотносится со столбцом (или набором столбцов) в главной таблице, и называется внешним ключом.

Поскольку главная таблица всегда находится со стороны «один», то столбец, участвующий в связи по внешнему ключу, должен иметь ограничение PRIMARY KEY или UNIQUE. Внешний же ключ задается при создании или изменении структуры подчиненной таблицы при помощи спецификации FOREIGN KEY:

  1. FOREIGN KEY(<список столбцов 1> REFERENCES <имя главной таблицы>(<список столбцов 2>)

Количество столбцов в списках 1 и 2 должно быть одинаковым, а типы данных этих столбцов должны быть попарно совместимы.

Вот как можно создать внешний ключ в таблице PC:

  1. ALTER TABLE PC
  2. ADD CONSTRAINT fk_pc_product
  3. FOREIGN KEY(model) REFERENCES Product(model);

    Замечание. Для главной таблицы можно не указывать столбец в скобках, если он является первичным ключом, т.к. он может быть только один. В нашем случае так и есть, поэтому последнюю строку можно было написать в виде

  1. FOREIGN KEY(model) REFERENCES Product;

Аналогичным образом создаются внешние ключи в таблицах Printer и Laptop.


Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2 3
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX MIN MONTH MySQL Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
несколько дней назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100