loading..
Русский    English
09:41

Exercise #8

Find out the makers that sale PCs but not laptops.

Let us to start with beginner's error

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT DISTINCT maker
  2. FROM Product
  3. WHERE type = 'PC' AND
  4. NOT (type = 'laptop');

A predicate in a WHERE clause is to be checked for each row formed by FROM clause, i.e. for each row in the Product table in our case. A row in this table presents a model, which can be only something one - either PC or  laptop or printer. Because of this if the first predicate (type= 'PC') is evaluated as true,  the second one will be true automatically - NOT(type = 'laptop'). In other words, the second predicate is unnecessary here. But we need to be convinced of absence of row that has type of laptop for the same maker if there is a row where type is PC.

The second solution, which is logically correct, is based on the incorrect treatment of subject domain that have been discussed earlier:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT DISTINCT p.maker
  2. FROM Product p INNER JOIN
  3. PC ON p.model = PC.model
  4. WHERE p.maker NOT IN (SELECT ip.maker
  5. FROM Laptop il INNER JOIN
  6. Product ip ON il.model = ip.model
  7. );

Here the existence of PC model in the PC table and absence of laptop model of the same producer have been checked. Mistake is that we can receive extra makers (if current state of the Laptop table has not models of a maker, although they exist in the Product table)  and can miss needed ones also (if no models of a maker, which does not produce laptops, are in current state of the database).

In conclusion let me give you once more the following treatment of the subject matter. Product table contains information about models and vendors supplying them.  However other tables (PC, Laptop, Printer) contain particular models for e.g. available for sale in a shop.

T&S

To solve the problem on SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
09:17
листать

Упражнение 8

Найдите производителя, продающего ПК, но не ноутбуки.

Начнем с ошибки новичка:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT DISTINCT maker
  2. FROM Product
  3. WHERE type = 'PC' AND
  4. NOT (type = 'laptop');

Предикат в предложении WHERE проверяется для каждой строки, формируемой предложением FROM, то есть в нашем случае для каждой строки из таблицы Product. Каждая строка представляет собой некоторую модель, которая может быть чем-то одним, либо ПК, либо ноутбуком, либо принтером. Поэтому, если выполнен первый предикат (type = 'PC'), то автоматически будет выполнен и второй — NOT (type = 'laptop'). Другими словами, второй предикат здесь излишен. Нам же нужно убедиться в том, что если есть строка с типом PC, то нет другой строки с типом laptop для того же поставщика.

Второе решение, верное по логике, опирается на неверную трактовку предметной области, которую мы уже обсуждали:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT DISTINCT p.maker
  2. FROM Product p INNER JOIN
  3. PC ON p.model = PC.model
  4. WHERE p.maker NOT IN (SELECT ip.maker
  5. FROM Laptop il INNER JOIN
  6. Product ip ON il.model = ip.model
  7. );

Здесь проверяется наличие модели ПК в таблице PC и отсутствие модели ноутбуков для одного и того же поставщика. Ошибка заключается в том, что мы можем получить как лишних поставщиков (если в текущем состоянии базы данных в таблице Laptop отсутствуют модели некоего производителя ПК, хотя они и есть в Product), так и недосчитаться нужных (если в текущем состоянии базы данных в таблице PC нет ни одной модели некоторого поставщика, не производящего ноутбуки).

ПиР

Решить задачу на SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
https://exchangesumo.com/obmen/NIXEUR-PMUSD-sort . Точка ремонта надежный сервис по ремонту.
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.