loading..
Русский    English
02:11

Exercise #46 page 2

Where is this information taken from? The information about ship`s class is in Ships table, so we need to use one more table. Thus, if the ship from Outcomes table is present in the Ships table (Outcomes.ship = Ships.name), then the class is certain, and therefore all information about this ship can be taken from Classes table (Ships.class = Classes.class). Let`s consider solution with such joins:

Solution 3.1.2

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT o.ship, c.displacement, c.numGuns
  2. FROM Outcomes o LEFT JOIN
  3. Ships s ON o.ship = s.name LEFT JOIN
  4. Classes c ON s.class=c.class
  5. WHERE o.battle = 'Guadalcanal';

The result is true on basic database, but the system denies solution. The left join guarantees that the ship draws in outer dataset even if its class is unknown (there is no ship in the Ships table). In the last case such row will be returned:

  1. A ship NULL NULL

The mistake is covered in Bismarck ship. The error occures when the Outcomes table has lead ship which is absent in Ships table. Let`s suppose that Bismarck ship participates in the battle of Guadalcanal. The concerned query returns such string:

  1. Bismarck NULL NULL
that`s why this ship is absent in the Ships table. However the characteristics are certain, because the class of ship is known (the ship is lead). The right row will be:

  1. Bismarck 8 42000

Row:

  1. A ship NULL NULL
will be return if the ship which is not lead had participated in battle and it isn`t present in the Ships table. This situation might occur if the class of ship is unknown, however, this it`s impossible, because the `class` column have NOT NULL restriction.

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2 3
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONSTRAINT CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME date_time functions DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates edge equi-join EXCEPT exercise (-2) More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
16:12
листать

Упражнение 46 стр. 2

Откуда же берется эта информация? Информация о классе корабля содержится в таблице Ships, то есть нужна еще одна таблица. Итак, если корабль из Outcomes имеется в Ships (Outcomes.ship = Ships.name), то нам известен его класс, и, следовательно, вся необходимая информация о нем может быть взята из таблицы Classes (Ships.class = Classes.class). Рассмотрим решение, которое выполняет нужные соединения:

Решение 3.1.2

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT o.ship, c.displacement, c.numGuns
  2. FROM Outcomes o LEFT JOIN
  3. Ships s ON o.ship = s.name LEFT JOIN
  4. Classes c ON s.class=c.class
  5. WHERE o.battle = 'Guadalcanal';

На основной базе получаем правильный результат, однако, система не принимает решение. При этом левое соединение гарантирует появление корабля в выходном наборе даже в том случае, если его класс неизвестен (корабля нет в Ships). В последнем случае будет получена строка типа:

  1. Корабль NULL NULL

Ошибка заключается в пресловутом «Бисмарке». Не именно в нем, а в той ситуации, когда в Outcomes имеется головной корабль, которого нет в Ships. Предположим, что «Бисмарк» участвовал в сражении при Гвадалканале. Рассматриваемый нами запрос вернет такую строку:

  1. Bismarck NULL NULL
так как этого корабля нет в Ships. Однако его характеристики нам известны, поскольку известен класс корабля (головной корабль!). Правильной строкой будет:

  1. Bismarck 8 42000

Строку же

  1. Корабль NULL NULL
мы получаем только в том случае, если в битве принимал участие неголовной корабль, отсутствующий в таблице Ships. Подобная ситуация могла бы еще возникать и при неизвестном классе корабля в таблице Ships, однако, она исключается ограничением NOT NULL на столбце class в этой таблице.

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2 3
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
https://exchangesumo.com/obmen/SBRFRUB-WEXRUB/ . Клиентская база CRM для сайта за 0 руб.
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100