loading..
Русский    English
18:21

Exercise #37 page 4

Solution 3.2.4

Approach based on unions is not unique. The following solution uses joins.

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT Classes.class
  2. FROM Outcomes RIGHT OUTER JOIN
  3. Classes ON Outcomes.ship = Classes.class LEFT OUTER JOIN
  4. Ships ON Classes.class = Ships.class
  5. GROUP BY Classes.class
  6. HAVING (COUNT(COALESCE (Outcomes.ship, Ships.name)) = 1);

Right join of Outcomes and Classes tables gives us the leading ships, with so doing the Outcomes.ship column will contain NULL value if the leading ship will not be in the Outcomes table. Then is executed left join of Classes and Ships tables on foreign key. The Ships.name column will contain a NULL value if the class has no ships in the Ships table. The resulting record set is grouped by class, and then the filtering predicate is used

  1. COUNT(COALESCE (Outcomes.ship, Ships.name)) = 1

Let us stop on this elegant method.

Notes:

The author is not ironic when he says "beautiful", "elegant", etc., on the wrong approach to solving the exercise. Here, most of the queries are written by professionals, fluent in the language of SQL. The analysis such solutions is a good school for beginners. The mistakes in these solutions are usually associated with neglect of a particular subject area, and are often easily corrected by purely cosmetic means.

So to make things completely clear, we give examples of four possible rows (taken from the available database except the last case), which result from the join. Here they are:

Ship class name
Bismarck Bismarck NULL
Tennessee Tennessee California
Tennessee Tennessee Tennessee
NULL Yamato Musashi
NULL Yamato Yamato
NULL Class_1 NULL

NULL in the column name for the Bismarck class means that the lead ship is only available in the Outcomes table. Ships "California" and "Tennessee" of Tennessee class are in Ships table, in this case, the leading ship is also in the Outcomes table. In the third case, the two ships of class Yamato present in the Ships table, the Outcomes table does not have leading ship of the class. For the fourth case of Class_1, the class has no ships in the database.

We return to the predicate. Function COALESCE (Outcomes.ship, Ships.name) returns the first non-NULL value of its arguments, or NULL, if both arguments are NULL values. More information about the COALESCE function can be found in paragraph 5.10.

The COUNT aggregate function with an argument counts non-NULL values in a group. The result for the Bismark class is 1; the result for the Tennessee and Yamato classes is 2 and for the Class_1 is 0. Only the Bismark of the four classes is present in the resulting set because the predicate is true for this class only.

This solution is free from the mistake of the previous solution 3.2.3: a leading ship contained both in the Ships table and the Outcomes table will be counted just once, because the only row will be present in the resulting set.

Attention:

A question. Is the last assertion always true for our database? Provide an example of data when it is not true. Incidentally this adds another error to the solution.

Furthermore the same error as in the example 3.2.1  rises in this case. If the row mentioned in the example is inserted into the database, just one row will be produced for two Bismark class ships as a result of the union:

Ship Class name
Bismarck Bismarck Tirpitz

If you have not yet discovered the mistake mentioned in the inset, look up the T&S.

T&S

To solve the problem on SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2 3 4
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONSTRAINT CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME date_time functions DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates edge equi-join EXCEPT exercise (-2) More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
16:36
листать

Упражнение 37 стр. 4

Решение 3.2.4

Подход на основе объединения не является единственно возможным. Следующее решение использует соединения.

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT Classes.class
  2. FROM Outcomes RIGHT OUTER JOIN
  3. Classes ON Outcomes.ship = Classes.class LEFT OUTER JOIN
  4. Ships ON Classes.class = Ships.class
  5. GROUP BY Classes.class
  6. HAVING (COUNT(COALESCE (Outcomes.ship, Ships.name)) = 1);

Правое соединение таблиц Outcomes и Classes дает нам головные корабли, при этом столбец Outcomes.ship будет содержать NULL-значение, если головного корабля нет в таблице Outcomes. Затем выполняется левое соединение таблиц Classes и Ships по внешнему ключу. Столбец Ships.name будет содержать NULL-значение, если класс не имеет кораблей в таблице Ships. Полученный набор записей группируется по классу, после чего выполняется фильтрация по предикату

  1. COUNT(COALESCE (Outcomes.ship, Ships.name)) = 1

Остановимся подробнее на этом элегантном приеме.

Примечание:

Автор не иронизирует, когда говорит «красивый», «элегантный» и т. д. о неправильных подходах к решению задачи. Большинство рассматриваемых здесь запросов писалось профессионалами, в совершенстве владеющих языком SQL. Анализировать такие решения — хорошая школа для начинающих. А ошибки в этих решениях как правило связаны с игнорированием той или иной особенности предметной области, и зачастую легко исправляются чисто косметическими средствами.

Чтобы все было до конца ясно, приведем примеры четырех возможных вариантов строк (взятых из доступной базы данных кроме последнего случая), которые получаются в результате соединения. Вот они:

Ship class name
Bismarck Bismarck NULL
Tennessee Tennessee California
Tennessee Tennessee Tennessee
NULL Yamato Musashi
NULL Yamato Yamato
NULL Class_1 NULL

NULL в столбце name для класса Bismarck означает, что головной корабль имеется только в таблице Outcomes. Корабли California и Tennessee класса Tennessee имеются в таблице Ships, при этом головной корабль есть также в таблице Outcomes. В третьем случае два корабля класса Yamato присутствуют в таблице Ships, в таблице же Outcomes нет головного корабля данного класса. Для четвертого случая класс Class_1 не имеет кораблей в базе данных.

Вернемся к предикату. Функция COALESCE (Outcomes.ship, Ships.name) вернет первое не NULL значение своих аргументов или NULL, если оба аргумента есть NULL-значение. Подробнее о функции COALESCE можно почитать в пункте 5.10.

Агрегатная функция COUNT, имеющая аргумент, вернет количество не NULL-значений аргумента в группе. Поэтому для класса Bismarck мы получим 1, для Tennessee и Yamato — 2 и, наконец, для Class_1 — 0. В результирующий набор из этих четырех классов попадает только Бисмарк, так как только он отвечает предикату.

Это решение не содержит ошибки предыдущего решения 3.2.3, то есть головной корабль, присутствующий как в таблице Ships, так и в таблице Outcomes, будет учтен только один раз. Это обусловлено тем, что при используемом соединении в результирующем наборе будет только одна строка.

Внимание:

Всегда ли справедливо для нашей базы данных последнее утверждение? Приведите пример данных, когда это будет не так. В этом, кстати, состоит еще одна ошибка данного решения.

Кроме того, в этом решении содержится та же ошибка, что и в примере 3.2.1. Если добавить в базу данных указанную там строку, то в результате соединения мы получим только одну строку на два корабля класса Бисмарк:

Ship Class name
Bismarck Bismarck Tirpitz

Если вы еще не обнаружили ошибки, упомянутой на врезке, загляните в ПиР.

ПиР

Решить задачу на SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2 3 4
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
несколько дней назад
https://exchangesumo.com/obmen/AKBBRUB-QIWIRUB/
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100