loading..
Русский    English
03:24

Exercise #3

Find the model number, RAM and screen size of the laptops with prices over $1000.

There is another quite easy task. However there is one mistake of instructive value. Here is the solution which contains this mistake:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT model, ram, screen
  2. FROM Laptop
  3. WHERE price > '1000'

String constants in statements instructions are quoted in single quotes. The constants of numeric types are given without quotation marks. Thus the last predicate should have been written as price > 1000. However there is one peculiarity connected with implicit transformation of the types. You can read about it in detail in Chapter 5 (item 5.9). It should be also noted here that  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft. SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL Server 2000 does not fulfill implicit conversion of the string into money data type value. Therefore the considered query generated the warning message:

Disallowed implicit conversion from data type varchar to data type money

One should take note that if the price column were of any other digital type, i.e.,float, then the implicit conversion would be made, and there would be no error. Of course one can make explicit conversion of this type; this is a quite legitimate version of this query:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT model, ram, screen
  2. FROM Laptop
  3. WHERE price > CAST('1000' AS MONEY)

Now, if you run the query, which generated error, then it will produce the resulting set and not the aforementioned error message. The matter is that SQL Server 2005, which is currently used on the site, this strange difference in behaviour of money data type from other digital types with respect to implicit conversion is already eliminated.

Thus, you will obtain the correct result when using the implicit conversion of the data type. The only point is that there is no use to make the server waste its resources for it, if one can do without conversion of the data types?

To solve the problem on SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
09:09
листать

Упражнение 3

Найдите номер модели, объем памяти и размеры экранов портативных компьютеров, цена которых превышает 1000 долларов.

Еще одна простая задача. Однако и здесь была допущена одна поучительная ошибка. Вот то решение, которое ее содержит:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT model, ram, screen
  2. FROM Laptop
  3. WHERE price > '1000';

Строковые константы в операторах  Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL заключаются в одинарные кавычки. Константы числовых типов в кавычки не заключаются. Таким образом, последний предикат следовало бы записать как price > 1000. Однако здесь есть одна особенность, связанная с неявным преобразованием типов. Подробнее об этом вы можете почитать в главе 5 (пункт 5.9). Здесь же следует сказать, что в  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft.SQL Server 2000 не выполняется неявное преобразование строки к значению типа money (деньги). Поэтому рассматриваемый запрос приводил к появлению сообщения об ошибке:

Disallowed implicit conversion from data type varchar to data type money, table 'Laptop', column 'price'. Use the CONVERT function to run this query.

(«Запрещено неявное преобразование типа данных varchar к типу данных money; таблица Laptop, столбец price. Используйте функцию CONVERT для выполнения этого запроса».)

Заметим, что если бы столбец price был любого другого числового типа, например, float, то неявное преобразование было выполнено, и ошибки бы не возникало. Конечно, можно выполнить явное преобразование типа; вот вполне корректная версия данного запроса:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT model, ram, screen
  2. FROM Laptop
  3. WHERE price > CAST('1000' AS MONEY);

Если вы сейчас выполните запрос, вызывавший ошибку, то он вернет результирующий набор, а не указанное выше сообщение об ошибке. Дело в том, что в SQL Server 2005, который сейчас используется на сайте, это странное отличие поведения типа money от других числовых типов при неявном приведении типов уже устранено.

Таким образом, вы получите правильный результат, используя неявное приведение типа. Вот только зачем заставлять сервер тратить на это ресурсы, если можно вообще обойтись без приведения типов?

Решить задачу на SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
вчера
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100