loading..
Русский    English
00:30

Adding rows to a table with identity column page 1

Many commercial products allow using auto incrementable columns, i.e. columns that form their values automatically when adding new rows. Such columns are widely used as primary keys in tables by virtue of uniqueness of these values. A typical example of that column is sequential counter, which generates a value greater by 1 than previous value (the value obtained when adding previous row).

Below, there is example of creating a table with IDENTITY column (code) in MS  SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL Server.

  1. CREATE TABLE Printer_Inc
  2. (
  3. code int IDENTITY(1,1) PRIMARY KEY ,
  4. model varchar (4) NOT NULL ,
  5. color char (1) NOT NULL ,
  6. type varchar (6) NOT NULL ,
  7. price float NOT NULL
  8. );

Autoincrementable column is defined trough IDENTITY (1, 1) function where the first parameter (seed value) is the value to be assigned to the first row in the table, and the second is the increment to add to the seed value for successive rows in the table. So, in that example, the first inserted row obtains in the code column the value of 1, the second row - 2 and so on.

Since the value in the code column is formed automatically, the statement

  1. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc
  2. VALUES (15, 3111, 'y', 'laser', 599);
raises error, even though the table has not a row with the value of 15 in the code column. Thus we will not include that column when adding the row to the table just as we do when using default value, i.e. 

  1. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc (model, color, type, price)
  2. VALUES (3111, 'y', 'laser', 599);

As a result, the information about model 3111 for color laser printer priced $2599 will be added to the Printer_Inc table. The value in the column code is 15 only accidentally. In the most cases, the specific value in an identity column is of no concern for this value has no sense as a rule; the first moment is uniqueness of the value.

Nevertheless, there are cases where a specific value needs to be inserted into autoincrementable columns. This takes place, for example, when existing data must be transferred into a new structure. In so doing, these data are in a "one-to-many" relationship from the "one " side. Thus, arbitrary values are not allowed here. On the other hand, we want to use autoincrementable field later.

In the absence of autoincrementable columns in the SQL Standard, a single approach does not exist. Here, the realization in MS SQL Server. The statement

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT < TABLE name > { ON | OFF };
turn off (ON value) or on (OFF value) auto increment use. Thus, to add a row with the value of 15 in the code column, we may write

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT Printer_Inc ON;
  2. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc(code, model, color, type, price)
  3. VALUES (15, 3111, 'y', 'laser', 599);

Note that column list is necessary in this case, i.e. we can neither write:

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT Printer_Inc ON;
  2. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc
  3. VALUES (15, 3111, 'y', 'laser', 599);
nor

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT Printer_Inc ON;
  2. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc(model, color, type, price)
  3. VALUES (3111, 'y', 'laser', 599);

In the last case, missing value in the code column cannot be inserted automatically because auto increment is turned off.

It should be noted that numbering would be continued from the value of 16 if the value of 15 were the maximum in the code column. Clearly if the auto increment will be turned on: 

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT Printer_Inc OFF;

At last, let us consider an example addition the data from the Product table to the Product_Inc table while conserving the values in the code column:

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT Printer_Inc ON;
  2. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc(code, model,color,type,price)
  3. SELECT * FROM Printer;

The following should be said of autoincrementable columns. Let the last value in the code column is 16. Then the row with that value is deleted. What is the value then in this column after adding a new row? Correctly, 17, i.e. the last value of counter is conserved despite of deletion of the row with the value of 16. So, the numbering will not be sequential after deletion and addition of rows. This is another reason for inserting the row with a given (missed) value in the autoincrementable column.

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2 3 4
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
09:10
листать

Вставка строк в таблицу, содержащую автоинкрементируемое поле стр. 1

Многие коммерческие продукты допускают использование автоинкрементируемых столбцов в таблицах, то есть столбцов, значение которых формируется автоматически при добавлении новых записей. Такие столбцы широко используются в качестве первичных ключей таблицы, так как они автоматически обеспечивают уникальность за счет того, что генерируемые значения не повторяются. Типичным примером столбца такого типа является последовательный счетчик, который при вставке строки генерирует значение на единицу большее предыдущего значения (значения, полученного при вставке предыдущей строки).

Ниже приводится пример создания таблицы Printer_Inc с автоинкрементируемым столбцом (code) в MS  Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL Server.

  1. CREATE TABLE Printer_Inc
  2. (
  3. code int IDENTITY(1,1) PRIMARY KEY ,
  4. model varchar (4) NOT NULL ,
  5. color char (1) NOT NULL ,
  6. type varchar (6) NOT NULL ,
  7. price float NOT NULL
  8. );

Автоинкрементируемое поле определяется посредством конструкции IDENTITY (1, 1). При этом первый параметр свойства IDENTITY (1) определяет, с какого значения начнется отсчет, а второй, — какой шаг будет использоваться для приращения значения. Таким образом, в нашем примере первая вставленная запись будет иметь в столбце code значение 1, вторая — 2 и т. д.

Поскольку в поле code значение формируется автоматически, оператор

  1. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc
  2. VALUES (15, 3111, 'y', 'laser', 599);

приведет к ошибке, даже если в таблице нет строки со значением в поле code, равным 15. Поэтому для вставки строки в таблицу просто не будем указывать это поле точно так же, как и в случае использования значения по умолчанию, то есть

  1. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc (model, color, type, price)
  2. VALUES (3111, 'y', 'laser', 599);

В результате выполнения этого оператора в таблицу Printer_Inc будет вставлена информация о модели 3111 цветного лазерного принтера, стоимость которого равна $599. В поле code окажется значение, которое только случайно может оказаться равным 15. В большинстве случаев этого оказывается достаточно, так как значение автоинкрементируемого поля, как правило, не несет никакой информации; главное, чтобы оно было уникальным.

Однако бывают случаи, когда требуется подставить вполне конкретное значение в автоинкрементируемое поле. Например, нужно перенести уже имеющиеся данные во вновь создаваемую структуру; при этом эти данные участвуют в связи «один-ко-многим» со стороны «один». Таким образом, мы не можем допустить тут произвола. С другой стороны, не хочется отказываться от автоинкрементируемого поля, так как оно упростит обработку данных при последующей эксплуатации базы данных.

Поскольку стандарт языка SQL не предполагает наличия автоинкрементируемых полей, то не существует и единого подхода. Здесь мы покажем, как это реализуется в MS SQL Server. Оператор

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT < имя таблицы > { ON | OFF };

отключает (значение ON) или включает (OFF) использование автоинкремента. Поэтому чтобы вставить строку со значением 15 в поле code, нужно написать:

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT Printer_Inc ON;
  2. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc(code, model, color, type, price)
  3. VALUES (15, 3111, 'y', 'laser', 599);

Обратите внимание, что список столбцов в этом случае является обязательным, то есть мы не можем написать так:

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT Printer_Inc ON;
  2. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc
  3. VALUES (15, 3111, 'y', 'laser', 599);

ни, тем более, так:

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT Printer_Inc ON;
  2. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc(model, color, type, price)
  3. VALUES (3111, 'y', 'laser', 599);

В последнем случае в пропущенный столбец code значение не может быть подставлено автоматически, так как автоинкрементирование отключено.

Важно отметить, что если значение 15 окажется максимальным в столбце code, то далее нумерация продолжится со значения 16. Естественно, если включить автоинкрементирование:

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT Printer_Inc OFF;

Наконец, рассмотрим пример вставки данных из таблицы Product в таблицу Product_Inc, сохранив значения в поле code:

  1. SET IDENTITY_INSERT Printer_Inc ON;
  2. INSERT INTO Printer_Inc(code, model,color,type,price)
  3. SELECT * FROM Printer;

По поводу автоинкрементируемых столбцов следует добавить следующее. Пусть последнее значение в поле code было равно 16, после чего строка с этим значением была удалена. Какое значение будет в этом столбце после вставки новой строки? Правильно, 17, так как последнее значение счетчика сохраняется, несмотря на удаление строки, его содержащей. Поэтому нумерация значений в результате удаления и добавления строк не будет последовательной. Это является еще одной причиной для вставки строки с заданным (пропущенным) значением в автоинкрементируемом столбце.

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2 3 4
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
вчера
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100